Strawberry Pie

Recipe (a more exact one) will be added if anyone is interested, otherwise I’m just posting pictures.

Strawberry Pie
Strawberry Pie – UNBAKED

I used two crusts from my “Easy Pie Crust” recipe (also on this blog).

I mixed strawberries (one big carton) and blackberries (three small cartons) with corn starch, sugar, a twist of lemon, and a dash of salt, and let it sit for an hour.  TASTE YOUR BERRIES. If they are tart (and I was baking in the off season, so of course the berries were tart), add more sugar. If they are sweet, add less sugar.

Baked at 350 F for about an hour (55 minutes, I think).

Strawberry Pie
Strawberry Pie
Strawberry Pie
Strawberry Pie
Strawberry Pie
Strawberry Pie

Served with whipped cream (my recipe: whipping cream, vanilla extract, bourbon (optional – Maker’s Mark), and sugar (confectioner’s)). Beat on high speed until fluffy and awesome. DO NOT OVERBEAT – otherwise you will make butter (if you do this by accident, don’t throw it out, that’s wasteful — sub it in for oil or butter in a recipe for cake or bread or scones or cookies or biscuits).

Otherwise serve with Haagen Daaz (yes, I’m specifying the brand, because it DOES matter) Vanilla Ice Cream.

Enjoy with a stiff coffee.

Leave a comment