French Chocolate Cake

translated from here

INGREDIENTS:

125 g flour
125 g butter
250 g sugar
200 g dark chocolate
4 eggs
1.25 tsp yeast

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Melt chocolate in saucepan with a little water.
  3. Take the saucepan off the stove, add butter, flour and yeast.
  4. In separate bowl, beat together egg yolks, sugar and a little water; add to the chocolate mixture.
  5. In a separate bowl, whip egg whites until frothy. Add to chocolate mixture.
  6. Pour batter into buttered pan with high sides and bake for 35 min.
  7. Add icing sugar or melted chocolate to decorate the top of the cake if desired.

NOTE: This is a translation from a French recipe. When I try this recipe out, I will add more details. I realize that it could use more details. I’ve never seen a recipe for a yeasted chocolate cake, have you? I find it very unusual.

NOTE: Recipe comments say 200g or even 175 g sugar is sufficient for this recipe. One person said 125 g of sugar was sufficient. I’d taste it and go from there.

NOTE: People bake times varied from 25-40 min. I’m guessing this is because they changed the amount of sugar in the recipe.

 

 

Leave a comment