Black Bean Soup Recipe

From: https://therecipecritic.com/20-minute-black-bean-soup/

INGREDIENTS
1 small onion, diced
1/2 tsp minced garlic (Costco sells this in a bottle)
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes (I use red gold brand)
2 (15 ounce cans) black beans, (drained and rinsed)
2 cups water
1 (4 ounce can) diced green chilies (I use old el paso, because they are super mild but flavorful)
1 can corn, drained (I use Del Monte)
1/2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder (I use kashmiri chili powder)

Garnish:
1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lime juice
fresh chopped cilantro for serving, if desired

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Dump all of the above ingredients (except the garnish) into a pot (I use a cast iron enameled dutch oven) and let boil until flavors meld and taste is as you like it.
  2. I let it boil first on medium high for about a half hour, then let it simmer on low heat with the lid slightly off so it would not overflow for another half hour (or basically until I was done cooking and could serve the soup warm).

Entree I served it with: CF Tamale Cakes

Dessert I served it with: Tembleque (which can be made the night before, or at minimum four hours ahead because it has to refrigerate, like jello)[I made mine in a corningware glass pie plate, it worked super well][you can top with cinnamon, or nutmeg, or fresh fruit like raspberries, blueberries or strawberries for serving).

Leave a comment