Dudhi Halwa

NOTE: I do not like mushi dudhi, I do not like excess ghee, and I do not like excess milk. I also do not like food coloring in my food. I try to eat as healthy and natural as I can.

From: Manjula’s Kitchen

Ingredients:

1 dudhi, peeled and shredded (about 4 cups)(squished down to 2 c when water is squeezed out)
2.5 c milk
1/2 c sugar
2 tbsp ghee
2 tsp cardamom powder
2 tbsp pistachio, chopped (optional)

Directions:

  1. Put milk in pyrex. Microwave 15 min power level 7. Milk will have condensed to roughly half the amount. Keep microwaving until you have about 1.5 c milk.
  2. On stove medium high heat, add ghee. Let warm. Add dudhi. Let cook, about 3 min.
  3. Add milk, bring to boil, then lower temp of stove to low. Let cook until mixture becomes thick, about 10 min.
  4. Add sugar, cardamom, pistachio (if you like). Mixture will become loose and soupy again. Stir continuously until halwa is semi solid (consistency of play dough), about 3 to 4 min.
  5. Turn off heat. Transfer to serving bowl. Garnish wish pistachios, serve.
  6. Enjoy!

Leave a comment